

President Todd Pearsons, President-Elect Dan Brauch, Vice-President Laurie Earley, Secretary-Treasurer Travis Rehm, Past-President Dan Dauwalter, Student Representative Emily Chen

Advancing fisheries and aquatic science and professionals in western North America.

WDAFS 2021 Business Lunch: <u>Thursday, May 12, 2021</u>

WDAFS Business Meeting Notes (12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT), 39 WDAFS members in attendance

- Todd Pearsons gave a brief introduction.
- Brain Murphy spoke about the major goals of his presidential plan of work. Outlined in his slide with the addition of AFS rebranding.
- Doug Austen gave an address and spoke on annual meetings, particular the upcoming one in Baltimore. Doug also spoke about events in the coming year including a new fellowship and AFS publications
- Todd gave the President's address with topics well outlined in slides.
- Dan Dauwalter introduced Eric Featherman as incoming Vice President, Laura Burckhardt as Secretary Treasurer, and Katherine Dale as Student Representative. Each giving an introduction.
- Travis Rehm gave a Secretary-Treasurer report outlining this year's finances.
- Todd Pearson gave the investment account overview with Troy Brandt absent.
- Luke Schultz gave the Western Native Fish Committee update. Highlighting the ScCS, Native Fish Symposium, and native fish database.
- Bob Hughes gave the Resource Policy and Environment Concerns Committee well outlined in his slide.
- Laura Slater gave the Diversity and Inclusion Committee update well outlined in her slide.
- Todd Pearson gave the Early Career Professional update due to Alexander's absence. The topics are outlined in ECP slides.
- Emily Chen gave the WDAFS Student Representative update outlined well in her slides, highlighting the student Colloquium.

- Dan Dauwalter gave the update for the Eugene Maughan Scholarship well outlined in slides. Winners being Lucia Combrink, Christina Linkem, and Haley Glassic, with each briefly speaking.
- Dan Brauch announced the CO-WY Chapter as the 2021 Outstanding Small Chapter. Jim White accepted on behalf of the Chapter.
- Dan Brauch also announced the OR Chapter as the 2021 Outstanding Large Chapter. Scott Heppell accepted on behalf of the Chapter.
- Dan Brauch also announced the Santa Cruz Monterey Bay Area as the 2021 Outstanding Student Subunit. Molly Lane accepted on behalf of the Chapter.
- Amy Sarcy presented the winners of the Riparian Challenge Awards. Winners being the Big Hole Watershed Committee (Pedro Marques accepted the award) and Cedar City Field Office (BLM, Megan Krott and Dan Fletcher accepted the award).
- Dan Dauwalter announced Deborah Hart as the 2021 Award of Merit winner. Deborah spoke briefly.
- Dan Dauwalter announced Mike Partlow as the 2021 Robert Borovicka Conservation Achievement. Mike spoke briefly.
- Todd Pearsons presented Dan Dauwalter with the 2021 Past President Award and spoke about all Dan's hard work and accomplishments. Dan spoke about his last five years with WDAFS.
- Todd Pearsons outlined future WDAFS and AFS meetings.
- Todd Pearsons thanked Travis Rehm and Emily Chen for their service as WDAFS Secretary Treasurer and Student Representative respectively. Both spoke briefly.
- Todd Pearsons closed out the meeting and encouraged folks to get involved in all levels of AFS.