Scholarship Information

The Western Division is pleased to announce that applications for its graduate-level student scholarships are now being solicited.  The Eugene Maughan Graduate Student Scholarship fund provides up to $5,000 annually to masters or doctoral students in the general area of fisheries science with one to three awards to individual students.  Click here for more information on Dr. Gene Maughan.  An award committee of five fisheries scientists from the Western Division will make the decision regarding the award of scholarships.  Selection criteria include demonstration of:

  1. Excellent scholarship as evidenced by course work during graduate studies.
  2. Potential for future contributions to the fisheries profession through management, research, or teaching.
  3. Significant progress toward attaining a graduate degree in fisheries science with a defined thesis or dissertation project.

The 2024 scholarships will be awarded at the 2024 WDAFS Annual Business Meeting in conjunction with the 154th AFS Annual Meeting, September 15-19, 2024 in Honolulu, Hawai’i. (exact date/time TBD).


  • Applicants must be a member of the American Fisheries Society or have submitted 2024 membership materials by the time of application. AFS Member number should be placed on application.
  • Applicants must have completed one semester or two quarters in a graduate degree program at a university within the geographic boundaries of the Western Division.
  • Applicants must have a major field of study that is related to fisheries or aquatic science.
  • Applicants must submit an application package (electronically preferred) that contains of each of the following:

A letter to the award committee that includes (three separate items):

      1. 1.   A brief description of the student’s degree program and the anticipated date of completion.
      2. 2.   A statement of the applicant’s career goals and reasons for applying for the scholarship (up to 200 words).
      3. 3.   A statement of the academic and professional activities and contributions to AFS and the fisheries science profession (up to 200 words).

Copies of a resume (including professional activities, pertinent publications, and scientific presentations) and graduate transcripts.

A one-page abstract outlining the goals, objectives, design, methods and expected outcome from the thesis or dissertation project.

Letters of reference from two faculty members (one must be the graduate students advisor) familiar with the student’s background and abilities. Letters may be sent separately by the individual providing the reference.

The application package should be sent electronically (or postmarked) no later than April 1, 2024 to:

Bob Gresswell, Western Division Scholarship Award Committee
226 Silver Cloud Cir
Bozeman, MT  59715
(406) 570-1486

Click HERE for a list of past scholarship award winners