Western Division AFS Awards

The deadline for WDAFS 2019 Award nominations is

April 24, 2019

Each year, the Western Division bestows awards on individuals and entities who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to fisheries education, science, management, and conservation.  All of us know people who are deserving of recognition.  Please consider nominating a worthy person or group for one of the WDAFS awards listed below.  Send your nominations to WDAFS Past President Brian Missildine at  no later than April 24, 2019.

The WDAFS Awards Committee will select award winners and notify nominees of the outcome no later than May 1, 2019.  Award winners will be announced in AFS’ Fisheries magazine and online through AFS and WDAFS social media.  Their accomplishments will be highlighted in the WDAFS newsletter (The Tributary), and they will be publicly recognized and awarded a plaque at the 2019 AFS/TWS/WDAFS joint meeting in Reno Sept. 29-Oct. 3.  Awardees are encouraged but not required to attend the annual meeting.

Individual Awards are given to AFS members and non-members that have made significant contributions to fisheries education, science, management, and conservation.  Organization Awards are bestowed on entities such as agencies, tribes, private entities, and non-profit organizations that have stood out for their contribution to fisheries conservation.  Outstanding Chapter and Student Subunit Awards are given to the WDAFS units whose activities and contributions have significantly advanced the Western Division’s mission and the American Fisheries Society’s Strategic Plan.

Award descriptions, eligibility criteria, and instructions for submitting nominations will be available soon.  We appreciate your interest and your patience.

Please contact Brian Missildline ( for more information.


Individual Awards

Organization Awards

Outstanding Chapter and Student Subunit Awards