WDAFS Scholarship Deadline in January 1, 2016

The Western Division of the American Fisheries Society deadline for  the 2016 graduate-level student scholarship applications is January 1, 2016.  This scholarship program provides up to $5,000 annually in scholarships to master’s or doctoral students in the general area of fisheries science; awards will be presented to one to three individual students. The Sustainable Fisheries Foundation augmented the Western Division scholarship program by establishing the William Trachtenberg Memorial Scholarship Fund 2002.  This fund provides up to $600 annually to a graduate-level student conducting studies on fisheries sustainability.  Applications for the Western Division scholarship program will automatically be considered for the Sustainable Fisheries Foundation scholarship program as well.

More information can be found at: http://wdafs.org/students/scholarship-travel-award-information/

Questions should be directed to Bob Gresswell (bgresswell [at] usgs.gov).

Small Project Grants Application Period Now Open

The Western Division currently has project funding available for Division Chapters, Subunits, and other fisheries-related groups. Grants are usually modest but can help get a project started or be used to complement other funding sources. Applications must be received by the Western Division Past President no later than December 1, 2015 cob Mountain Time.

More information can be found at: http://wdafs.org/awards/small-project-grants/

Questions should be directed to WDAFS Past President Hilda Sexauer (Hilda.sexauer [at] wyo.gov).

Call for Voting – WDAFS Bylaw Revisions

Greetings WDAFS members:

Please take a moment to review the Bylaws and vote on the revisions using the google form link below.  The Bylaw revisions are available here.
The deadline for voting is November 25, 2015.
The WDAFS Bylaw revisions were reviewed and edited by two AFS Constitutional Consultants (Jessica Mistak and John Boreman).  The Division bylaws were sent to membership for a 30 day review and comment period back in August.  A few editorial comments were submitted and incorporated into the revision.
Please take a few minutes to review and vote on the Division’s Bylaw Revisions.
Hilda Sexauer, WDAFS Past President

2016 Western Division Award Nomination Period Now Open

One of the roles of our Society is to provide a public and professional platform to recognize and celebrate the important contributions by our members, colleagues and mentors. For 2016, the Western Division is now seeking nominations for the following awards:

  • Award of Excellence
  • Award of Merit
  • Award of Special Recognition
  • Conservation Achievement Award
  • Robert L. Borovicka Conservation Achievement Award

Award descriptions, general criteria, past winners, and further information are all provided on the WDAFS website: http://wdafs.org/awards/information-deadlines-applications/ and are also pasted below for your convenience.

Nominations should be in narrative form and 1-2 pages in length, not including any supporting information.  Supporting information includes but not limited to letters of recommendation.  A separate application process is used for the Outstanding Chapter and Student Subunit awards, and is available here.

Submit nominations to WDAFS Past-president Hilda Sexauer at hilda.sexauer [at] wyo.gov.  The deadline for all nominations is January 15, 2016.

2015 WDAFS Riparian Challenge Award Winners Announced

The WDAFS Riparian, Watersheds, and Habitat Committee announced winners of the 2015 Riparian Challenge Award at the AFS Annual meeting in Portland. This award honors excellence in riparian and watershed management and rewards on-the-ground accomplishments that significantly improve riparian systems.  This year’s Riparian Challenge Award Winners are:

  • Roseburg District BLM Office – Bureau of Land Management Award
  • Okanogan Wenatchee UFSF Ranger District – United States Forest Service Award
  • Coeur d’Alene Tribe – Other Agency Award

Winners each received a plaque, which was presented at the WDAFS Business Luncheon, and $500 in travel assistance to attend the Portland meeting.

The call for entries for the 2016 WDAFS Riparian Challenge is open now through December 15.

Winners will be announced at the 2016 WDAFS meeting in Reno, NV, March 21-24 . Winners will receive $500 travel reimbursement from WDAFS to attend the meeting, and will be awarded a plaque of acknowledgement at the Business Luncheon.

Click here to download the application form and instructions. Please contact Tracy Wendt (tracywendt [at] gmail.com) for more information.


2016 Western Division Annual Meeting

The Western Division of the American Fisheries Society is proud to announce that the 2016 Annual Meeting will be co-hosted by the California-Nevada Chapter in Reno, Nevada.  The meeting will be held from March 21-24, 2016 at the Grand Sierra Resort.  For more information please visit the meeting website at: http://wd2016.fisheries.org/

WDAFS Statement on the Proposed Susitna-Watana Hydropower Project

The Western Division has issued a statement letter on the proposed Susitna-Watana Hydropower Project.  This letter can be found here.  Any questions or comments should be addressed to the Western Division President, Hilda Sexauer.